30
Sep
09

Doodle #22 – Is Morristown, New Jersey a Good Place to Live?

Is Morristown, NJ a Good Place to Live?  -  Click on above image to enlarge

Is Morristown, NJ a Good Place to Live? - Click on above image to enlarge

Click here to read an article about us vs. Morristown published last year in our local paper!


7 Responses to “Doodle #22 – Is Morristown, New Jersey a Good Place to Live?”


  1. September 30, 2009 at 8:24 PM

    Actually, we had quite a bit of sympathetic reaction. People stopped us in the street, we got a couple of supportive letters and literally all of the cops drove by that day to look at the cartoon. We were worried at first until Jeff went out and talked with a car full of them, all of whom were laughing. They told him that the word had spread and that everyone had to come look at it. It’s all true, and the cartoon remains on the wall unmolested.

  2. 2 vonholdt
    October 1, 2009 at 7:01 PM

    He should be flattered that you featured him on the wall. I like the comment on the article that many of the cities buildings wouldn’t pass they guidelines they harass you about.

  3. 4 Rob
    July 2, 2010 at 2:15 AM

    Wow thats funny…I live on Mills street and I have hated that _____hole for years. I saw your painting, and without knowing any background I kind of thought that was him, but I thought why would anyone paint a shrine of that ___-hole. I was actually going to paint over it some dark night out of pure hatred so I didn’t have to see his stupid face anymore, but now that I know you were mocking him I love it. That ____ hole actually gave me a ticket/fine because my house caught on fire with me inside of it causing over 100k in damage, and it took too long (in his eyes) for me to get it fixed.

    I think he got fired because A. I have not gotten harassed from him in quite some time. B. I dont see his stupid face on the morristown website anymore. Good riddens. I just wish I got another opportunity to tell him what a jerkoff he is. (yes I told him several times)

  4. 5 Rob
    July 2, 2010 at 2:21 AM

    Oh i almost forgot….maybe you can put this in the cartoon, I think it wins the Hernen Valez stupidest ever quote award…the firemen axed/chainsawed/cut gaping holes in my house, bigger then large windows, so naturally we borded them up. One violation was for not replacing the windows…I explained to him that I can’t fix the house until my insurance company paid the claim. He said you have to put windows in…. I said you dont understand… there is no wall there, there’s no studs, there’s nothing…I cant put a window in a wall that doesnt exist. Here is what he said “this may sound a little crazy, but I think your best option is to paint the boards so that they look like windows. You can paint drapes on them and everything, and put a plant in front so that it looks like a real window” needless to say i hung up on him at that point. If I knew you guys were such the artists we could have painted the fake windows, and painted his dumb face peeking out🙂

    • July 2, 2010 at 6:07 AM

      Rob, Jeff and I would both like to meet you! And, of course, love to do another cartoon re Velez right here. We have heard quite a few since I painted the face on the wall. And, it is sort of incredible that it is still there. When I saw there was a search on Hernan, I said to Jeff (first thing this morning) “you better mow the lawn… Hernan just did a search on himself.” but, I doubt that he is particularly computer savvy (somehow) and I’m DELIGHTED to meet you. Barbara

  5. July 2, 2010 at 6:32 AM

    Rob,

    Your story is simply amazing or, I should say, anyone who hasn’t tangled with Velez would think it’s amazing. I just checked-out the Morristown Property Maintenance site and, as you say, he’s gone! I looked at the page’s html code and found that they even deleted his picture from their web site!

    Here’s a possible explanation: When Tim Doherty got the Democratic nomination for Mayor, I knocked on his door to tell him not only our Velez story, but others that we’d accumulated when people stopped us on the street, phoned and wrote, this following the story about Barb’s wall painting in The Daily Record. He was particularly aghast when I pointed out that Velez’s own roof and chimney needed (and still need, mind you) repair. Doherty promised that, if elected, he’d look into the problem and, perhaps, he actually did. We are dumbfounded and relieved. I think we’ll be calling the mayor to find out.

    Which house is yours? I’m trying to picture a house which had been partially boarded-up and I cannot.

    As Barb says, we are eager to meet you. If you work for Union, we think we found you on facebook, but if you’d like to send fb friend requests, send them to “Jeffrey Robert Broido” and “Barbara Broido” (not to mention one of our cats, “Mitzie Broido”, who has her own page). We are, none of us, completely sane.

    Regards,
    Jeff


Leave a Reply

